Gerdes wins Chickasha Council position

Brian Gerdes, Ward 1 Councilman in Chickasha was elected to a full two year term during the April 6th elections last week. Gerdes was appointed to the position last year and was awarded 178 votes to retain the seat for the next full term from the election. Challenger David Lucas received 66 votes.
 Only 44 votes seperated the two candidates for a post on the Canadian Valley Tech Center Office No. 3 board position after the April 6th race.
 Travis Posey won Grady County with 291 votes to Dennis Crawford’s 265. but the district covers multiple counties.
 The majority of votes come from Canadian County where Crawford out polled Posey, 3,989 votes to 3,943. Caddo County only had 10 votes and Posey only received one of those votes. Cleveland County saw the vote split with Crawford picking up 9 votes to Posey’s 6 votes.
 Posey got all of the votes in Kingfisher County, however there were only 2 votes cast, but Crawford picked up all 3 votes from McClain County. Oklahoma County kicked in 166 votes for Crawford and 152 for Posey.
 The final tally was Crawford 4,441 and 4,397 for Posey.
 In Verden, David Holder and Don Patterson were the top two vote-getters of five candidates for the town board of trustees. Holder received 49 votes and Don Patterson received 44.
 In Alex, John Williams defeated Shelby Johnson 37 to 25 for a post on the town board of trustees.
 In the Anadarko city council election, Tanner Salyer was re-elected vice mayor defeating Patrick Michael Hayes, 106 to 21.
 In the Democratic primary for District 2 Caddo County Commissioner, Jeff Boren received nearly 75 percent of the vote in a 3-person race. Boren collected 174 votes, while Jamie Williams had 49, and Darren Farmer had 19. Boren will now face Republican Belita Byrd in a special general election on Sept. 14th. The winner will fill the post previously held by Randy McLeMore who died last year.